The Clubs Lansdowne Rugby Football Club
 Latest News
Our Aims

Division 1
Ground Lansdowne Road
Address Lansdowne Road, Dublin 4
 +353 1 6689300
Aidan Delany
+353 1 497 2922
Hon Sec Michael Daly +353 87 2889931
Club Captain    
AISRCA Rep Michael Daly +353 87 2889931
Club Coaches

Founded in 1872 by Henry WD Dunlop as the Irish Champion Athletic Club, Lansdowne Football Club is one of the oldest rugby clubs in Ireland as well as one of the best-known wherever the game of rugby football is played.

Steeped in the history of the game, the Club’s home ground is Lansdowne Road, the Irish international stadium, which is also the oldest international rugby ground in the world. During the reconstruction of the Lansdowne Road Stadium, the club has temporarily relocated to the other side of Ballsbridge in Dublin to the RDS Grounds. The lease to the Lansdowne Road grounds was originally passed to the IRFU by HWD Dunlop, first President of Lansdowne from 1872 until 1904. Remarkably, over a hundred years later, Henry Dunlop’s son, Eric, is still involved with Lansdowne and is an Honorary Life Member of the Club.

The Club’s playing colours are black, red and yellow hoops, with navy shorts. To date, 99 Lansdowne players have won international caps, including many famous names in Irish Rugby, including: Moss Keane, Eugene Davy, Ernie Crawford, Ned Lightfoot, Mick Dunne, Jack Arigho, Morgan Crowe, Robin Roe, Mick English, Pat Casey, Sean MacHale, Gordon Wood, Alan “Dixie” Duggan, Barry McGann, Mick Quinn, Noel Manion, Eric Elwood, Philip Danaher, Michael Kiernan (dropped the goal to win the 1985 Triple Crown), Conor O’Shea, Donal and Dick Spring (former Tanaiste), Michael Gibson, Des Fitzgerald and, of course, the great Con Murphy (the only player to represent Ireland both before and after the 2nd World War). Con was captain of the famous Irish team which defeated England 22-0 in the first official post-war international in 1947.

Lansdowne have won the Leinster Senior Cup a record 24 times, as well as winning the most Leinster Senior League titles (9). Since the Club’s first Senior Cup victory in 1891, Lansdowne have won a total of 110 Leinster Branch trophies as well as 6 national titles - more than any other club.

The Club caters for players at all levels, and currently fields six senior teams, as well as a successful Under 20’s side (they have won the Leinster League twice in the past few seasons). They were also All Ireland Champions in 1998~1999. Mini and Youth Rugby also flourishes in the Club, with over 350 children participating in teams from under 6/7/8’s up to under 16’s, playing on Sunday mornings.

In both the 1996-97 and 1999-2000 seasons, Lansdowne finished second in the All Ireland League, on the latter occasion losing narrowly to St Mary’s College in the final. Winning the AIB League title remains the Club’s key priority.

The First XV play in the First Division of the Allied Irish Bank-sponsored All Ireland League. The side is captained this season by Alan Maher, with Stephen Rooney as Director of Rugby.

The Club’s Honorary Executive Officers for season 2007~2008 are: President: Patrick Halpenny: Chairman: Dermot McCarron, Vice-President: John Kearney, Junior Vice-President: Mark Dawson; Michael Graham (Hon. Secretary); David McDowell (Hon. Treasurer); Director of Rugby Stephen Rooney; Patrick Boylan (Leinster Branch Rep.) and Michael Daly (Club Administrator). Prominent Lansdowne families over the years include the Coffeys, Warrens, Dawsons (Michael Dawson is the Chief Executive of the Leinster Branch), Davys and Sutherlands.

Another prominent Lansdowne Club member was Ham Lambert, who died recently at 96 years of age. Ham played both rugby and cricket for Ireland, became an international referee on his retirement as a player and was also a champion golfer!

Content © AISRCA - Designed by Dickson Design